The icons in a checklist assigned to a project are determined by the task state. This is useful for an at-a-glance view at how much of a checklist has been completed.

The top-level category icons are determined by the states of the tasks belonging to that category. The category inherits the state of the task with the highest priority. For example, the state new is the highest priority, so if there are any tasks with a state of new, the category state is also new. The state not applicable is the lowest priority, so the category icon is not applicable only if all tasks belonging to that category have a state of not applicable.

The overall state of a checklist is determined differently. By default, a new project checklist has a state of new as all tasks and categories are also new. Once any task or category state is updated, the checklist moves to in progress and remains there until the overall state is manually updated to complete.

Table 1. Checklist task icons and states

The task is not started.

3In progress

The task is in progress.


The task is complete.

1Not applicable

The task does not apply to the project. You might select this state when using the same checklist for projects that are similar but with some differences in scope or approach.

Table 2. Other checklist icons
Displays the number of comments added to the task.
Displays the number of unique instances linked to the task.